What is the 32 in 72 Challenge?

Posted: March 15, 2013 in 32 in 72

The 32 in 72 Challenge is a sponsored extreme mountain walk to be undertaken August 2nd – August 4th 2013 in aid of the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign. I’m undertaking this solo in remembrance of my grandmother, a muscular dystrophy sufferer who died in 2011, but also as a personal challenge to test my fitness and motivation. Who am I? My name is Jonathan Stonehouse and you can find out more in the About section or visit my other blog to catch up with my other adventures.

My Aim

The aim of 32 in 72 is to complete the Welsh 3000s, English 3000s and Scottish 4000s on consecutive days. This means summiting all 15 Welsh peaks over 3,000ft, all 8 English peaks over 3,000ft and all 9 Scottish peaks over 4,000ft in 72 hours. Completing the challenge involves a walk of over 100 miles, a 70 mile bike ride and nearly 40,000ft of total ascent. Think Mount Everest and then add another 11,000ft!

My Objective

The objective is to raise no less than £2,000 to fund the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign’s terrific work.

Want to Donate?

Thank you! The preferred method is to make a donation through my JustGiving page. Donations made in this way go direct to the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign and are available for use straight away.

If you would prefer to sponsor me in the ‘old-fashioned’ way, i.e. on a per peak or per mile basis, then please email me with your name, address and the amount. Please indicate whether the amount is per mile, per peak or ‘fixed’. I will add your details to a regular sponsorship form and contact you after I have completed the event.

However you choose to support me – thank you!

Leave a Reply

